More Linux Tips

– Detailed info about system: Actually these are kernel messages and are stored as logs in /bin/dmesg.
  – $dmesg

– Determining runlevel {Shows previous & current runlevel}
  0->Halt 1->Single User Mode
  2-> Multiuser w/o NFS 3-> Full Multiuser 6-> Reboot

– To modify init level-> /etc/inittab

– To switch runlevels, use init command.
`$init 3`

– Difference between Paging and Swapping
Paging refers to movement of pages to frames on the disk. It’s a considerably cheaper operation. Swapping means to move entire address space of a process to disk. This is very expensive operation and happens when a process sleeps or when thrashing occurs.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: